Here are the kids at the Dentist today.  I like this place as they do both kids at the same time and in the same room.  They even have a room for those with 3 kids.  Anyway the kids were super nervous days before this visit, as they usually are, as they were worried about cavaties, the drill and injections.  So what I had said to them was they need to visualize their visit to the dentist.  I told my daughter to close her eyes and picture herself lying in  the chair and the Dr doing his thing.  I told her to imagine him saying good things about her teeth and saying all is good and I am done.  While she was doing her visualizing, I told her to feel it.  Imagine the feeling inside of her, when he said Jade you are good to go and your teeth are good.  I told her to imagine how good that would feel and how happy she would feel sitting up.  As it turned out, that is what happened.  You see I am a huge believer in visualization and the law of attraction and have manifested some pretty good things into my life in the past.  Of course there are still areas I need to work on too, but that is my challenge.

To give you another example of how I do this with my kids, instead of telling them to suck it up, be brave and blah blah, I also did this with my son.  A little while ago, he woke up in the a.m. next to me in my bed (little fella sneaked in during middle of the night).  One of the first words he said,was Dad can I have some Gum?  I told him, that is not going to happen right now so early in the morning and that I had bought him some the day before, so he will have to wait a little while before I get him some more.  Then I said.  If you really want Gum, then you need to visualize it.  I told him to close his eyes, see the Gum he wants, open the wrapper, smell it, chew it, taste it and imagine the feeling he would have when doing that.  His eyes were closed and he was grinning from ear to ear, so I knew he was really visualizing and feeling it.

Later that day we went to a local diner for lunch and we go there pretty frequently.  But this day Joel, said he wanted to come and pay with me.  So off we went and we were chatting to the manager as we have done dozens of times before.  But this time, the manager says to Joel.  How you doing today buddy, did you enjoy your lunch?  Why don’t you go choose anything from the counter down there and he points to a candy display.  Joel looks at me and his eyes light up and he walks straight over and picks up his Gum.  He got his Gum and Dad didn’t buy it for him either.  When we got into the car, I said, “You see Joel, visualization works” and he looked at me with a glint in his eye.  Something learnt.

Athletes do this all the time and some may say it is nonsense.  Why not try?  What do you have to lose?  What are you scared of? What is the worst that could happen?  You may just get what you wanted, that’s what.  If you want a good book to read on this.  Check out Shakti Gawain – Creative Visualization

